Buyer's guide
Best digital work instructions software
Short answer: Most digital work instructions tools now draft instructions with AI; they differ in where the draft comes from and what sits around it. To film your best operator once and get an illustrated, translated instruction with sign-off per operator, look at LeanSuite or Manual.to. To convert a library of Word, PDF and PowerPoint files, look at Dozuki, Azumuta or Poka, which add skills tracking and, for Dozuki, acknowledgement of every change. For instructions tied to torque tools and machine data, look at Tulip (published prices) or VKS, and for AR overlays on CAD, Vuforia Expert Capture. In aerospace and defense, Solumina keeps instructions inside a full MES.
Who wrote this: LeanSuite publishes this guide, and LeanSuite is one of the nine products on it. It is listed first because it is our product; the others follow in alphabetical order, which is not a ranking. Every other product is described only from its own public pages, and each entry says where that product fits better than ours.
Last reviewed September 2026. Based on each vendor's public information; tell us if something has changed at info@theleansuite.com.
At a glance
LeanSuite's whole platform next to each product, capability by capability. A question mark means the vendor does not publish it or we could not verify it, not that the product lacks it; the detailed table below has the specifics.
- Yes, on the vendor's own site
- Partial, limited or a paid add-on
- No, outside the product's published scope
- Not published, or we couldn't verify it
Swipe sideways to see every product.
| Capability | LeanSuite | Azumuta | Dozuki | Manual.to | Poka | Solumina | Tulip | VKS | Vuforia Expert Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frontline operations | |||||||||
| Daily issue management with tier escalation | Yes:F-Tags, escalation | Partial: Tickets | Not published | Not published | Partial: Issues module | Not published | Partial: Built as apps | Not published | Not published |
| Tiered meetings and huddle boards | Yes:Lean Studio | Not published | Not published | Not published | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Audits and checklists (5S, LPA, CILR), scheduled | Yes:Daily Standard Work scheduling | Yes | Partial: Operational workflows | Not published | Partial: Forms and checklists | Not published | Partial: Inspection apps | Not published | Not published |
| Breakdown reporting and maintenance work orders | Yes:EWO; works alongside a CMMS | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Continuous improvement | |||||||||
| Any method: DMAIC, PDCA, A3, 8D or your own | Yes: Incl. your own | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Engineering and CapEx projects with stage-gates | Yes:Four stage-gates | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Non-manufacturing teams and projects | Yes: Any project type | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Ideas and suggestions with configurable approvals | Yes:Approvals per idea type | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Savings verified before they count | Yes:Finance signs off | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Share what worked across sites (yokoten) | Yes:Best Practice Management | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| AI | |||||||||
| AI root cause analysis | Yes:RCA Agent | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| AI time and motion study from video | Partial:Vision AI, priced separately | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Video to SOP | Yes:SOP from one video | Not published | Yes: Forge AI | Yes: Video to guide | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| AI one-point lessons (OPLs) | Yes:OPL from before-and-after photos | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| AI drafts checklists and forms | Yes:Lean Creator AI drafts | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Yes: AI Composer | Not published | Not published |
| AI sorts and triages ideas | Yes:Lean AI | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Skills and training | |||||||||
| Live skills matrix | Yes:Competency Management | Yes | Partial: Skills tracking | Not published | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Job cover matrix: who can cover each job | Yes:Job Cover Matrix | Not published | Not published | Not published | Partial: Shift view | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Training (LMS): courses, quizzes, learning plans | Yes:Trainings (LMS) | Yes: Training paths | Yes: Learning pathways | Not published | Yes: Learning module | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| SOP and OPL sign-off per person | Yes:Signed on a tablet | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Data and platform | |||||||||
| KPI dashboards | Yes:KPI Dashboards | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Yes | Not published | Not published |
| SSO and a security certification | Yes:SOC 2 Type 1; Entra ID, Okta | Partial: SSO; no certification stated | Yes: SOC 2, ISO 27001 | Partial: ISO 27001 compliance; SSO on Enterprise | Yes: SOC 2 Type II | Partial: SOC 2 compliance; SSO not stated | Yes: Professional plan up | Partial: SSO on Enterprise; certification not stated | Partial: PTC SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 |
| Operator sign-in with an employee ID, no email | Yes:Employee ID | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Free plan or published prices | Yes:Free plan for ideas | No: Quote only | No: Quote only | Not published | No: Quote only | Not published | Yes: Per interface | Not published | Not published |
| Mobile app (iOS and Android) | Yes:iOS and Android | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Yes: Vantage app |
| Digital work instructions | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes: Inside the MES | Yes | Yes | Yes: AR instructions |
| Skills matrix and training in the same platform | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not published | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Based on each vendor's public website, reviewed September 26, 2026; tell us if something has changed at info@theleansuite.com.
How we chose these tools
Digital work instructions software puts step-by-step job instructions on a tablet or screen instead of paper, with pictures or video for each step, controlled versions and a record of who has read or signed them. Each product on this list meets all of these:
Work instructions are a main product
The vendor's own product page names digital work instructions as something the product does, not only a document library.
Built for manufacturing
Manufacturers are a main market, named on the vendor's own pages.
Still sold in 2026
A live product page with a way to buy, trial or book a demo, and a dated 2026 release, news item or post on the vendor's site. Where that evidence is thin, our sources log says so.
Public information
Enough on the vendor's own pages to describe how instructions are built, controlled and signed off. Where pricing or security is not published, the table says so.
Nine digital work instructions tools: LeanSuite first, then alphabetical
1. LeanSuite
Lean manufacturing software whose AI writes work instructions from a video of your best operator. Upload the video in Create with AI and get numbered steps with start and end times, the clearest frame for each step (which you can swap), and callouts for PPE, torque tools and inspection points. A paper or PDF procedure can also be turned into a draft, and several overlapping SOPs merged into one. Drafts stay private until you edit and publish them, can be translated with your glossary locked, and go to engineering, EHS and quality for e-signature with an audit trail. Each instruction has an owner, a review date with reminders and a version history. Instructions are assigned to people, a role or a workstation, operators sign on a tablet, and each printed step can carry a QR code that plays its clip. Operators sign in with an employee ID, with no company email needed, and SOP sign-offs count toward their level on the Skill Matrix. One flat price per facility with unlimited users; a 90-day pilot costs $3,000 per facility.
Best for: Plants that want instructions filmed once and drafted by AI, signed off per operator and tied to skills, issues and kaizen in one system.
2. Azumuta
A connected worker platform for manufacturing, founded in Ghent, Belgium, in 2016, with offices in Detroit and Paris. Work instructions are built in a no-code editor with images, video, 3D models, audio, parts lists, parameters, variants and if-then logic, or drafted by Azumuta Intelligence from Word, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF files and from video or audio. Revisions are approved by e-signature, instructions can be translated into any language, operators can send feedback on a step, and the flow can adapt to each operator's skill level. A skill matrix with certificate expiry reminders, audits, CAPA, travelers and digital torque wrenches are other modules, with Epicor, Microsoft Dynamics, Odoo and SAP integrations and iOS and Android apps. Its site says it is built to standards such as ISO/IEC 27001 and SOC 2, with annual security audits. Pricing is a custom quote.
Best for: Mid-sized discrete manufacturers with many product variants that want instructions, a skill matrix and quality checks without heavy IT.
3. Dozuki
A connected worker platform built around digital work instructions, founded in 2011. Its CreatorPro AI turns an expert's video, or Excel, Word, PDF and PowerPoint files, into editable instructions with photos, video and markup, and its editor supports TWI job instruction breakdowns. Instructions go through approval workflows with a full history of changes, authors and reasons, periodic reviews and scheduled releases; ChangeAware AI summarizes what changed and asks workers to acknowledge critical updates, and supervisors can be required to sign off critical steps. Operators leave suggestions inside a procedure, AI translates into more than 100 languages, and a live skills matrix with trainer sign-offs triggers retraining when a standard changes. Its security page says SOC 2 Type II compliant, ISO 27001 and 21 CFR Part 11 validation, with SSO, and it has an iOS app. Pricing is by request.
Best for: Teams that want a dedicated, document-control-heavy instruction system that converts legacy files and asks every operator to acknowledge each change.
4. Manual.to
A video-first work instruction tool from Binders Media BV in Ghent, Belgium. You upload a video from a phone, smart glasses, a chest camera or CCTV, and its AI reads the frames and transcribes the spoken instructions into a step-by-step visual guide, or you build steps by hand from photos, short clips and text. Guides are shared by link, QR code or embed, translated automatically (its home page says 200+ languages, its product page 100+), and read aloud with text to speech. Approval flows and version tracking keep only verified instructions live, analytics show who read which instruction and whether they confirmed it, and comments and ratings collect feedback. It is web-based with no app to install, connects to SAP, Microsoft Dynamics 365, SuccessFactors and AG5 for skills, and its Enterprise tier lists ISO 27001 and GDPR compliance, SSO with Entra ID and EU hosting. Pricing is not published; there is a 7-day free trial.
Best for: Plants that want the shortest path from a phone video to a translated, QR-linked instruction, with little setup.
5. Poka
A connected worker platform that says it runs at more than 3,000 manufacturing, energy and mining sites. Poka AI converts PDFs, Word documents, recorded videos and paper into step-by-step instructions with video, photos and voice notes, in more than 70 languages, with version history for audits. Its skills matrix shows who is trained, endorsed and due for recertification, experts sign off people they watch perform a task, and work routes only to qualified operators. Learning, forms and checklists, issues, huddle boards and AI agents that log issues are other modules, with ERP, MES, LMS and CMMS integrations. It says it is compliant with SOC 2 Type 2 (report under NDA), with SAML single sign-on, and runs on iOS, Android and the web. Pricing is by request.
Best for: Multi-site enterprises that want instructions, skills endorsements and AI agents in one mobile-first frontline app.
6. Solumina
MES, MRO and quality software from iBase-t, in business since 1986, for aerospace and defense and other complex, regulated manufacturing. Digital work instructions are a named MES capability: instructions carry illustrations, 3D models, animations and video, are tailored to each worker's task and skill level, check that the worker is trained and certified, and prompt for verification, data and signatures as the work is done, with version control and a feedback loop to engineering after defects or scrap. Solumina ScanAI turns PDF or scanned work instructions into structured data. Instructions run on workstations, tablets and phones, with SAP, PLM and ERP integration. It says it offers SOC 2 compliance, with a SaaS option on AWS including GovCloud. Pricing is not published.
Best for: Aerospace, defense and other heavily regulated manufacturers that need instructions inside a full MES with change control and traceability.
7. Tulip
A no-code frontline operations platform from Somerville, Massachusetts, where work instructions are apps built in its App Editor that show the right information at each step and capture data as the work happens. Steps can carry images, video, PDFs and 3D models, pull work orders from ERP and drawings from PLM, and connect to torque tools, scanners and machines. Its AI Composer turns a PDF into a draft app, with limited logic. Every app is version controlled, approvers can be required to sign off new versions, and Tulip records which version each operator ran. It supports 30 languages, with multi-language apps on the Enterprise plan, and a training and skills suite can block unqualified operators. It holds ISO 9001:2015 certification and a SOC 2 Type II report, with single sign-on from the Professional plan. It publishes pricing per interface (device), billed annually with a 10-interface minimum: Essentials $100 and Professional $250 a month per interface.
Best for: Engineering-led plants that want instructions tied to tools, machines and ERP work orders, and will build their own apps.
8. VKS
No-code work instruction software from Visual Knowledge Share, founded in 2012, sold in three packages: Lite for work instructions, Pro adding smart forms, signatures, SPC and productivity monitoring, and Enterprise adding API, SSO and an audit log. Instructions are built in a drag-and-drop editor with pictures, videos, annotations, pictograms, PDFs and links to BOMs and CAD drawings, approved by experts before they go live, with revision history and change notifications. Google and DeepL translate into more than 30 languages, operators send feedback from the instruction, and certifications with expiry dates keep tasks with qualified people. VKS Edge connects torque tools, PLCs and test benches. It runs in a browser on computers and tablets, as SaaS in SOC 2 Type II compliant data centers or on premises for ITAR, and can convert existing instructions with AI as a service. Pricing is not published; trials run 30 days.
Best for: High-mix assembly shops that want visual instructions first, with torque tool connections and an on-premises option.
9. Vuforia Expert Capture
Augmented reality work instruction software from PTC, which took over Vuforia Instruct in 2023. Experts record a procedure on HoloLens, RealWear glasses or a phone, and engineers build CAD-based AR instructions in Vuforia Editor; operators follow them with AR overlays, 3D models, images and video in the Vuforia Vantage app for iOS and Android. Step Check uses AI to inspect a step visually and show pass or fail in AR, and quality issues or improvement ideas can be captured as the work is done. A distribution center manages who gets which published procedure. PTC's trust center lists SOC 2 Type II reports and ISO 27001 for the company. Languages, approval workflow and pricing are not published on the Vuforia pages.
Best for: OEMs rich in CAD data that want AR overlays and AI visual inspection on top of their 3D models.
The nine tools side by side
From each vendor's public pages. "Not published" means we could not find it publicly, not that the product lacks it.
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
| Capability | LeanSuite | Azumuta | Dozuki | Manual.to | Poka | Solumina | Tulip | VKS | Vuforia Expert Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Work instructions | |||||||||
| Main focus | Lean modules: instructions, skills, issues, kaizen | Connected worker: instructions, quality, skills | Connected worker built on work instructions | Video-first work instructions | Connected worker platform | MES for complex, regulated manufacturing | No-code frontline apps | Work instructions, then data capture and MES | AR work instructions and inspection |
| How instructions are created | AI from a video, or from paper or PDF; merge several SOPs | Editor; AI from Office files, PDF, video or audio | Editor; AI from video or Office and PDF files | AI from video; manual editor | AI from PDF, Word, video or paper | Authored in the MES; ScanAI reads PDFs | App Editor; AI Composer from PDF | Drag-and-drop editor; AI migration as a service | Recorded expert video; CAD-based AR in Editor |
| Media in each step | Best video frame per step; PPE and torque callouts; QR code plays the clip | Images, video, 3D, audio | Photos, video, markup | Video clips, images, text to speech | Video, photos, voice notes | Illustrations, 3D, animations, video | Images, video, PDFs, 3D models | Pictures, video, PDFs, CAD links | AR overlays, 3D, images, video |
| Translation | AI translation with your glossary locked | Any language | 100+ languages | 100+ (product page) or 200+ (home page) | 70+ languages | Not published | 30 languages; multi-language on Enterprise | 30+ via Google and DeepL | Not published |
| Approval and sign-off | E-signature by engineering, EHS, quality; operators sign per instruction | Approval by e-signature; revision history | Approvals; change acknowledgement per worker | Approval flow; who read and confirmed | Version history; approval not published | Version control; signature prompts during work | Version approval; which version each operator ran | Expert approval; revision history | Not published |
| Skills and training | Sign-offs raise levels on the Skill Matrix | Skill matrix, certificate expiry | Live skills matrix; retraining on change | Via AG5 or SuccessFactors | Skills matrix; work only to qualified operators | Checks training and certification | Skills suite can block unqualified operators | Certifications with expiry dates | Not published |
| Buying | |||||||||
| Pricing | Per facility, quote; 90-day pilot $3,000 | Not published; custom quote | Not published; pricing request form | Not published; 7-day free trial | Not published; request form | Not published | Published: $100 or $250 a month per interface | Not published; 30-day trial | Not published |
| Security | SOC 2 Type 1 report; secure cloud hosting | Built to ISO 27001 and SOC 2 standards (wording) | SOC 2 Type II compliant; ISO 27001; SSO | ISO 27001 and GDPR compliance; SSO (Enterprise) | SOC 2 Type 2 compliant; SAML SSO | SOC 2 compliance (wording); AWS GovCloud | SOC 2 Type II report; ISO 9001; SSO | SOC 2 Type II data centers; on premises | PTC: SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 |
| Apps | Web, iOS and Android | iOS and Android | iOS app | Web, no install | iOS, Android and web | Workstations, tablets, phones | Windows, Mac, Android; iOS in Safari | Browser on computers and tablets | Vantage for iOS and Android |
Where LeanSuite is different
This part is about our own product, so read it as LeanSuite's pitch; the entries above describe every other tool from its own pages. Each point links to the LeanSuite page that shows it.
Work instructions written from a video
Film your best operator and the AI drafts numbered steps with a frame for each, safety and torque callouts and translations. Drafts go to engineering, EHS and quality for e-signature, and operators sign off on a tablet.
Digital work instructionsControlled documents, signed off per operator
Each work instruction has an owner, a review date with reminders and a version history. Drafts go to engineering, EHS and quality for e-signature, and instructions are assigned to people, a role or a workstation, where operators sign on a tablet.
Controlled work instructionsOperators sign in with an employee ID
Frontline staff sign in with an employee ID or username on the mobile app or a shared tablet, with no company email needed. Office staff use SAML 2.0 or OAuth single sign-on with Microsoft Entra ID or Okta.
Security and sign-inSOPs and OPLs signed off per person
SOPs, procedures and OPLs are attached to skills and jobs, and employees sign them off digitally on a tablet, so each person has an audit-ready record instead of scanned paper.
SOPsA 90-day pilot at a published price
$3,000 per facility for 90 days, with the first module live in under a week. Pricing is per facility with unlimited users.
The pilot
Which one fits
- Instructions filmed once and drafted by AI, signed per operator and tied to skills, issues and kaizenLeanSuite
- The fastest path from a phone video to a translated, QR-linked guideManual.to
- Strict document control with every change acknowledgedDozuki
- Many product variants, with instructions, skills and quality checks togetherAzumuta
- Instructions, skills and AI agents across many sitesPoka
- Instructions tied to torque tools and machine data, at a published priceTulip
- Visual instructions with an on-premises option for ITARVKS
- AR overlays on CAD and AI visual inspectionVuforia Expert Capture
- Aerospace or defense, inside a full MESSolumina
Film it once, train everyone
Try LeanSuite in your browser with sample data, or run it on your own lines for 90 days with the setup done by our team. Bring one process video and leave with a draft instruction. If you are not ready for software, start with the free process instruction or job breakdown templates.
What customers say
“Great user-friendly software! It's covering everything that WCM or similar Lean Programs are asking to do, in a very effective way.”
Elena M.Global Head of Marelli Manufacturing System Automotive, Marelli“The Project Tracking System generates significant savings while ensuring seamless delivery... The Global Kaizen Power Pitch completely transformed our ability to share best practices.”
Read the case study
Ramsey AljahmiSr. Director of NAR Operations Excellence, Whirlpool Corporation
FAQ
Best Digital Work Instructions Software: common questions
Sources
- Azumuta digital work instructions
- Azumuta Intelligence
- Azumuta pricing
- Dozuki knowledge management
- Dozuki security
- Manual.to home page
- Manual.to product
- Manual.to FAQ
- Poka digital work instructions
- Poka security and compliance
- Solumina digital work instructions
- Tulip digital work instructions
- Tulip plans
- VKS work instruction software
- VKS products
- VKS hosting options
- Vuforia Expert Capture
- PTC trust center
- LeanSuite facts come from our own pages: Daily Issue Management, Tiered meetings, Idea Management, Continuous improvement, Engineering and CapEx projects, CI portfolio, Competency Management, Job Cover Matrix, Audit Management, KPI Dashboards, Micro-stops, AI Video Analysis, Pilot, Pricing, Security.
Last reviewed September 2026. Based on each vendor's public information; tell us if something has changed at info@theleansuite.com.
More comparisons
- LeanSuite vs KaiNexus
- LeanSuite vs Tulip
- LeanSuite vs Redzone
- LeanSuite vs Tervene
- LeanSuite vs iObeya
- LeanSuite vs Rever
- LeanSuite vs L2L
- KaiNexus alternatives
- Tulip Alternatives
- Redzone Alternatives
- SafetyCulture (Mitti) Alternatives
- L2L Alternatives
- Best Idea Management Software
- Best Kaizen Software
- Best Continuous Improvement Software
- Best Skills Matrix Software
- Best Audit Management Software
- Best Lean Manufacturing Software
- MaintainX Alternatives
- Best Gemba Walk Software
- Best Time and Motion Study Software
- Best Vision AI Manufacturing Software
- Best Operational Excellence Software
- Best Connected Worker Software
- Best Lean Management Software
- Best A3 Problem Solving Software
- Best Lean Six Sigma Software
- Best COPQ Software
- Best One Point Lesson Software
- Best Tiered Meeting Software
- Best Leader Standard Work Software
- Best Root Cause Analysis Software
- Best SMED Software
- Best 5S Audit Software
- Best Autonomous Maintenance Software
- Best LMS for Manufacturing
- LeanSuite vs spreadsheets and paper
- LeanSuite vs homegrown software
- LeanSuite vs Power Apps and SharePoint lists
See LeanSuite on your own floor's problems
Bring the process you want to fix. We will show you how LeanSuite handles it and what a 90-day pilot would cover.

